DEPARTURE FROM ZAKYNTHOS TOWN APPROX 9.00-
- TRANSFER TO XYGIA BEACH 30 MINUTES
- NEXT MAKRYS GIALOS 30 MINUTES
- ST.NIKOLAOS PORT VOLIMES BOAT TO SHIPWRECK BEACH AND BLUE CAVES DURATION 3 HOURS
- TRANSFER TO OLIVE OIL FACTORY WHERE THE STAGES OF THE PRODUCTION OF OLIVE CAN BE LEARNED -15 MINS
- MONASTIRI ANAFONITRIA 20 MINS
- TRANSFER P TO SHIPWRECK VIEW POINT FROM ABOVE 1 HR
- KAMPI 30 MINS
- KORAKONISI 45 MINS
- BOHALI,WHERE THE VIEW OF THE WHOLE OF ZAKYNTHOS TOWN CAN BE SEEN 20 MIN.
Xygia beach, is a very smal picturesque beach, with a characteristic smell of sulfur, coming from a sulfureous source found in a cave nearby.
Because the content of the waters in sulfur, the surface of the waters reveals white shaddows, that resembe to grease.
The residents of the area believe that the waters there are healing and are recommended for the treatment of the athritis.
Makrys Gialos is a small beach, in comparison with the other large beaches, with crystal deep waters.
The wild beauty of the surroundings makes this beach extremenely impressive.
In the tall waterworn rocks, small caves have been formed.
The beach of the Shipwreck,
The beach of the Shipwreck, is perhaps one of the most famous beaches of Greece.
It tooked its name in the ship that in 1983 transported illegally cigarettes and after it shipwreckd was washed ashore. Its shell still lies there to odorn it.
The landscape is really impressive. Among the high white rocks a white beach lies with deep and spotless waters.
The beach is found near in the village of Anafonitria.
You April access the beach only from the sea with the caique which every day depart from the Harbour of Saint Nikolas in Volimes, or the Porto Vromi, or by making the tour of island with the smal boats and cruise ships. Most of them depart from the harbour of Zakynthos, and other from the beach of Laganas.
The monastery of Anafonitria
The monastery of Anafonitria with its characteristic tower is situated in the area of Plemonariou, northwest of Zakynthos Zante.
It was probably established in the l5th century from Leonard Tokko, Count Palatine the 3rd of Cephalonia and Zakynthos (Zante), with his wife Lappa.
In byzantine times the miraculous icon of Our Virgin "Anafonitria"was brought here from the captured Constantinople in 1453.
The monastery became a brotherhood from the priest-monk J. Rosanos and the monk A. Vlahos in 1534.
From this time the great property was possessed by Venice as Jus patronato, to the people prominent. In 1568 it was given to Archbishop Dionysus Sigouros (the Saint and Protector of our island today). It was here that our Saint met the murderer of his brother to whom he forgave.
The last possessor of the monastery was the family of Flabouriaris.
All the wall paintings (all that were saved) were narrated possibly in early 1669 by the order of Morozini.
Currently the monastery operates as a Parish Church for the neighbour village that bears the same name. The tower exists as a steeple and the area is a place of pilgrimage, the reason for this being the binding of Our " Saint of Forgiveness " Dionysus.